Log in

League_Logo_1200_x_675-removebg-preview (1).png (666×375)

Award Winners

The Silver Horseshoe Award

Congratulations to Anita Scott, Executive Director of the Nacogdoches County Exposition & Civic Center in Nacogdoches, Texas, for receiving the third annual Silver Horseshoe Award during our 2024 Symposium. This League award is presented during the Symposium to a member who represents the League, their facility and themselves in a manner most representative of our longtime Executive staff members, Lon and Cathy Oyster.

The award was the idea of George Chatigny, formerly of the Los Angeles Equestrian Center. George was a League Board member for several years and also a member of the executive team. He is a true visionary, always coming up with wonderful and innovative ideas. George suggested a new award be given at each Symposium named the Silver Horseshoe Award and it be given in honor of Cathy and Lon, who served as the League’s Executive Staff for many years. The award recipient is be selected by the Board Chairman and Vice Chairman and presented at the annual Symposium. The recipient would be a person representing the League and themselves in a manner most representative of the outstanding characteristics that Cathy and Lon displayed, including:

  • Outgoing friendly personality
  • Enthusiasm for the League
  • Participation during the Symposium
  • General support of the League

Previous recipients include:

  • Sara Milholland, Delta County Colorado (2023, Ocala Symposium)
  • Kelly Wells, Florida Parishes Arena and Event Center (2022, Austin Symposium)

Anita has been a member of the League for 4 years and the 2024 Symposium was her 3rd to attend. She has been with the facility for over 20 years. She really enjoys the contacts and friendships that she has made as a result of her time with the League. She knows she can call on members to assist her with questions when they arise. She likes many parts of the Symposium, especially the networking each evening and the opportunity to shop in new locations each year. Congratulations Anita!

League Hall of Fame Award

During the 2024 League Symposium, George Chatigny was inducted to the League (LAEC) Hall of Fame.  

Currently serving the League as the Executive Manager, George is the former General Manager of The Los Angeles Equestrian Center and a 

former member of the Board of Directors.  George was nominated in part due to his enduring legacy and dedication to The League.  During his long career within the Equine Industry, George has also been a steward, judge, exhibitor, show promoter and more.  Currently in semi-retirement, George and his wife Tresa split their time between Southern California and Las Vegas.

George joins the other members of the Hall of Fame:

  • Bill Allen, Oklahoma State Fair, Inc, Class of 2023
    • Bryan Dygert, WestWorld of Scottsdale Class of 2022
    • Bill Chambers, Show Place Arena and Prince Georgia's Equestrian Center, 2018

      2020 Facility of the Year

      Congratulations to WestWorld of Scottsdale, AZ.

      2019 Facility of the Year

      Congratulations to South Point Arena and Equestrian Center in Las Vegas, NV.

      2018 Facility of the Year

      Congratulations to the Will Rogers Memorial Center in Fort Worth, TX, the first winner of our Facility of the Year award.

      The Facility of the Year Award is based on operational excellence as well as professional development, safety and security, and service to one’s community. The Will Rogers Memorial Center exemplifies those attributes.

      The City of Fort Worth and the management and staff of the Will Rogers Memorial Center have put great thought and planning on the long-range design and renovation of their facilities to transform a historic stock show-focused facility into a world class equestrian event facility and destination. They relied upon the insight of many of their past, present and potential clientele in the development of their renovation plans which helped them create facilities and amenities ideal for almost any breed or discipline show.

      Their sales strategy paralleled the long-range renovation schedule to develop a diverse annual schedule of equestrian and livestock shows with a greater potential for economic impact and revenue than was ever previously attainable. The transformation of their center and calendar of events has coincided perfectly with the economic and growth surge of Fort Worth creating a destination to complement their equestrian facilities for national and international competitions.

      We are grateful to have their membership in The League of Agricultural & Equine Centers and pleased to have selected them as our first Facility of the Year. Congratulations the Will Rogers Memorial Center!

      Best Marketing Award

      Congratulations to the Georgia International Horse Park, Conyers, GA, winner of our first Best Marketing Award.

      The League of Agricultural & Equine Centers

      P.O. Box 5537

      Aiken, South Carolina 29803


      Copyright ©

      2024 League of Agricultural & Equine Centers

      All Rights Reserved

      Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software